Give Now


About SMU

21st Century Council

The 21st Century Council serves as a primary advisory organization for the President of SMU.  Council members are appointed by the President for the purpose of providing the President with advice on contemporary issues, challenges, and opportunities facing America’s colleges and universities.  The Council provides an opportunity for its members and the President to address these matters in a frank, confidential, and collegial format.  Input from Council members is especially important in providing the President with an off-campus perspective of Dallas and other communities as well as perceptions about SMU held by constituencies and individuals important to the future of SMU.

Council Members

Jeremy B. Ford (Chair)
Hilltop Holdings, Inc.

Jaxie Alt
Dr Pepper

Michael Boone
Houlihan Lokey

Calvert Collins-Bratton
Methodist Health System

Christopher T. Crum '05
Aylstone Capital Management

Andersen Fisher
Tålamod Asset Management, LLC

Peter Hegi
Compass Professional Health Services

Tamara Marinkovic Hines '91, '94
Jones Day

Jason Kulas '93
Santander Consumer USA, Inc.

Kathryn Lake
Luce Consulting Company

Greg LaMantia '03
Favorite Brands

Kyle D. Miller '01
Silver Hill Energy Partners, LLC

Alex Nettune
3030 Investors, LLC

Kevin O’Meara '86

Guillermo Perales
Sun Holdings LLC

T. Blake Rowling
TRT Holdings, Inc.

Hernan J.F. Saenz, III
Bain & Company, Inc.

Carl Sewell III '07
Sewell Automotive Companies

Carter Tolleson '01
Tolleson Wealth Management

William J. Ware '01
Amarillo National Bank

Ex officio

R. Gerald Turner

Brad E. Cheves